# **OXFORDSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL**

**MINUTES** of the meeting held on Tuesday, 14 May 2013 commencing at 12.30 pm and finishing at 12.55 pm.

#### Present:

Councillor Tim Hallchurch MBE - in the Chair

# Councillors:

Anne Purse Patrick Greene Neil Owen Zoé Patrick Lynda Atkins Pete Handley Jamila Azad Jenny Hannaby Glynis Phillips Susanna Pressel **David Bartholomew** Nick Hards Neville F. Harris Laura Price Mike Beal Maurice Billington Mrs Judith Heathcoat G.A. Reynolds Liz Brighouse OBE Hilary Hibbert-Biles Alison Rooke Nick Carter Hoare Rodney Rose Louise Chapman John Howson Gillian Sanders Mark Cherry Ian Hudspeth John Sanders John Christie **Bob Johnston** Les Sibley Yvonne Constance Richard Langridge Roz Smith Surinder Dhesi Stewart Lilly Val Smith Arash Fatemian Lorraine Lindsay-Gale Lawrie Stratford Neil Fawcett Sandy Lovatt John Tanner Jean Fooks Mark Lygo Melinda Tillev Kieron Mallon Mrs C. Fulljames Michael Waine Anthony Gearing Charles Mathew Richard Webber Janet Godden Caroline Newton David Williams David Nimmo Smith **David Wilmshurst** Mark Gray

The Council considered the matters, reports and recommendations contained or referred to in the agenda for the meeting and decided as set out below. Except insofar as otherwise specified, the reasons for the decisions are contained in the agenda and reports, copies of which are attached to the signed Minutes.

# 32/13 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

(Agenda Item 1)

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Bulmer and Coates...

# 33/13 APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY ALDERMAN

(Agenda Item 6)

The Council had before them a report (CC6), setting out Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972 which allowed Councils` to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on former Councillors who have, in the opinion of the Council, rendered eminent service to the Council as past members of the Council.

(a) Mr Charles Shouler

**RESOLVED:** (on a motion by Councillor Waine, seconded by Councillor Mrs Fulljames and carried nem con) to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on Charles Shouler, under section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, in recognition of her significant contribution to the Council in particular and public service in general.

(b) Mr David Turner

**RESOLVED:** (on a motion by Councillor Patrick, seconded by Councillor Purse and carried nem con) to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on David Turner, under section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, in recognition of his significant contribution to the Council in particular and public service in general.

(c) Mr David Buckle

**RESOLVED:** (on a motion by Councillor Brighouse and seconded by Councillor Tanner and carried nem con) to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on David Buckle under section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, in recognition of his significant contribution to the Council in particular and public service in general.

Once the Alderman had been appointed, the Chairman presented each Alderman in turn with a Certificate of Appointment.

	in the Chair
Date of signing	